Three Branches of Government

Three Branches of Government

Mastery: 0%
Items below each bucket belong in that bucket. To master this BrainRush, click play.

Share This BrainRush:

Legislative Branch
create laws

composed of the Senate and House of Representatives

ratify treaties

declare war

control federal taxation and spending

regulate commerce

impeach the president

hold public hearings

override vetoes

coin money

Executive Branch
enforce laws

led by the President

includes the Vice President, the Cabinet, and their departments

command the armed forces

direct national defense and foreign policy

veto bills

meet with foreign leaders

grant pardons

recommend laws to Congress

sign bills into law

Judicial Branch
interpret laws based on the Constitution

explain meaning of the Constitution

composed of 9 justices

members do not have term limits

decide on court cases involving states' rights

supervise operations of all federal courts

overrule decisions made by state courts